About The Council

The Scots All Saints College Bathurst and Lithgow Council is a group of twelve members, elected for terms of three years by the General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church of Australia in New South Wales.

They are non-executive members who support and oversee the Headmaster in the day-to-day running of the School.

The new School Council, which was approved on Wednesday 11 July 2018, comprises a balanced mix of skills, experience and gender; with current and former parents and students from both schools appointed.

All live in Bathurst or regionally and the new Council met for the first time on Saturday, 14 July 2018. 

The Trustees will have an active role in supporting the new Council and they have asked The General Manager of the Presbyterian Church, Mr Jeof Falls, to continue to facilitate the integration process in close association with the new Council and the School’s Senior Executive until the end of 2019.  

Council members, including parents, old boys and girls, and others, must be active members of the Presbyterian Church of Australia in New South Wales or another church in fellowship with the Presbyterian Church of Australia.

Council members come from wide geographical and professional areas but all have a strong and supportive interest in the governance of the School.

They fulfil their responsibilities on a voluntary basis.

The Council's roles include the selection, appointment, evaluation and mentoring of the Headmaster, the setting of budgets, the approval of capital works, the formulation of policy and strategic planning for the School’s future.

The Council also ensures that all policies and practices in the School comply with relevant standards and regulations established by various statutory bodies.

The Council reports annually to the General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church of Australia in New South Wales.

Following the Council meeting held on Saturday 4 August, we are very pleased to confirm that Mr Hamish Thompson has been appointed the first Chairman of the Scots All Saints College Council. 

Hamish is well known to many parents at All Saints’ College as a current parent with a son in Year 11 and another son who completed Year 12 last year.

He is also well known to many Scots Old Boys as a former student and boarder of The Scots School; Hamish boarded at Scots for six years in Bulkeley House.

Hamish’s appointment continues an outstanding legacy left by his father, who served on The Scots School Board for many years, and in whose honour Thompson House was named.

Hamish was a member of the All Saints’ College Council over the past six months leading up to the General Assembly’s decision to merge the two schools and constitute the new School Council on 12 July.

We are also very pleased to confirm that Mrs Rosemary McKay has been appointed the first Deputy Chair of the new School Council.

Rosemary is well known in The Scots School community as a former parent of three children, but she also has connections with the All Saints’ community as a former All Saints’ College student.

Rosemary is experienced in school governance, being a former Board and Finance Committee member of The Scots School since 2014.

Both Hamish and Rosemary bring strong business and finance backgrounds, cross-school experiences, and a deep understanding of the heritage and culture of both schools.

They are supported by a Council with wide expertise in education, business management and finance. 


Council Members 

Mr Andrew Abel – lives in Bathurst; financial accountant and adviser; a current parent at The Scots School.
Dr Theresa Cook – lives in Bathurst; a general dentist in local practice; a current parent at All Saints’ College.
Mrs Ruth Clements – lives in Bathurst; retired teacher and Infants Coordinator at All Saints’ College.
Mr Paul Gorrick – lives in Bathurst; retired General Manager for a group of rural health/hospital services; former board member of Carinya Christian School in Tamworth.
Mr Jim Grant – lives in the upper Blue Mountains; retired teacher, lecturer, regional and state mathematics consultant and an educational publisher; former Board member of The Scots School.
Mrs Rosemary McKay – lives in Bathurst; former registered nurse; current management accountant in the Local Health District; former Board member of The Scots School; former Scots parent and All Saints’ Old Girl.
Mr David Mills – lives in Bathurst; retired after a career in the military, the public sector and a time working with the Salvation Army; former Board member of The Scots School.
Mrs Jennifer Stone – lives in Cowra; retired from active involvement in school parent representative committees including human resources and recruitment; former Board member of The Scots School.
Dr Shevahn Telfser – lives in Bathurst; manager of the international mobility office at Charles Sturt University; former Board member of The Scots School; former Scots parent.
Mr Michael Siede – lives in Bathurst; corporate advisor; a current parent at All Saints’ College.
Mr Hamish Thompson – lives in Bathurst; local business owner and manager; a current parent at All Saints’ College; former Old Boy of The Scots School. 
Mrs Robyn White – lives in Cowra; former secondary school teacher; current teacher at the Western Institute of TAFE; former Board member of The Scots School; former Scots boarding parent.

Photos will be uploaded soon!

More News...

No Events Today

More Events...